Consulting & Yoga Teaching Gigs

Although my primary objective is to secure a full-time job, I have my feelers out there for any way to make some money, which has started to pay off.

Thursday I met with the founder and COO of a start-up website who are looking for a community manager to build & execute the social media strategy for their site. I thought it was an interview and turns out they wanted to offer me the job.

It’s a part-time job that pays $1000 a month. At the most I’ll spend 40 hours a month on their project, working out to $25 per hour. When I went to the meeting I was going to ask for $100 a month; however, the connection with the founder is something that I’m hoping will turn out to be more fruitful in the long-term. She is part of a well-known and successful family and her husband could actually help my side-business. So I’m going to take the gig. Even if I get a full-time job I will be able to still work as the community manager; the side income will help me pay down my debt faster.

Additionally, I received an email offer to teach a weekly yoga class at a country club. However this is in the middle of the day. The pay is really good $45 guaranteed regardless if anyone shows up or not. I’ve not accepted this offer yet, because I’m waiting to learn about the job with the Fortune 100 tech company that I’ve been interviewing with.

I called the HR contact at the Fortune 100 company to let her know that I’ve received some freelance offers and would need to accept the offers if their job didn’t come through. I asked her if she knew when the decision would be made so that I could put off answering the freelance opportunities until then. I think this lit a little bit of a fire under her. I hope to hear something about the full-time job soon!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

